Nine candidates declared for Blackpool South by-election

Nine candidates have been announced for the Blackpool South by-election next month.

The ballot, which was triggered by the resignation of MP Scott Benton, takes place on May 2, the same day as when local elections will be held.

The candidates are:

Chris Webb, Labour

David Jones, Conservative

Andrew Cregan, Liberal Democrats

Ben Thomas, Green Party

Mark Butcher, Reform UK

Stephen Black, Independent

Damon Sharp, New Open Non-Political Organised Leadership Party

Kim Knight, Alliance for Freedom and Democracy

Howling Laud Hope, Official Monster Raving Loony Party

Have you got a local news story? 
Email us:

More from Blackpool, Wyre & Fylde News

On Air Now Central Radio Breakfast with Danny Matthews 6:00am - 10:00am
Now Playing
Will We Talk? Sam Fender Download
Recently Played

Download our Apps

Listen to us on the go, download our mobile app.

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Available on the Amazon Appstore
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa

Up next on Central Radio

  • The More Music Workday

    10:00am - 3:00pm

    The most music we can fit in your workday!